Official Summer Education Institute 2011 Site

Hosting Institution Application Form for 2010 (pdf)                                                                                                    

Quick Facts
Past SEIs
Dates :
July 7th - 13th, 2008
The Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) and the Visual Resources Association (VRA)
James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia
Tuition & Curriculum:

Tuition: VRA and ARLIS/NA members: $675; Non-Members: $775

Curriculum: the basic course offerings will remain much the same as for SEI 2007, with a few minor changes. Information on 2008 instructors and the syllabus will be added to this website as they become available. Until then you can reference the SEI 2007 curriculum site for an overview of what will be offered.

Registration & Cancellation:
  • REGISTRATION IS NOW CLOSED. If you wish to be placed on the waitlist email
  • You may pay by credit card or by check at the time of registration, however if you wish to register using a check, please register online first and then mail your check (to Jeanne Keefe, address below) in time for it to arrive by April 18, 2008
  • There will be a $75 cancellation fee.
  • Cancellations must be requested from Christina Updike in writing by May 30 (postmarked no later than May 27th).
  • Cancellations after May 30 will result in forfeiture of the complete registration fee.
Housing, Meals & Travel:

A block of rooms has been reserved on the James Madison University campus. 

Information Contacts:

Christina B. Updike, Local chair
Visual Resources Specialist
School of Art & Art History
James Madison University
MSC 7101
Harrisonburg, VA  22807

Amy Lucker, Co-chair
Library Director
Institute of Fine Arts
New York University
1 East 78th Street
New York, NY 10021

Jeanne M. Keefe, Co-chair
Visual Resources Librarian
Architecture Library
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
110 8th Street
Troy, NY 12180

2009 Implementation Team:

VRA/VRAF Co-chair: Jeanne Keefe
ARLIS/NA Co-chair: Alix Reiskind
Local Chair: Martha Mahard, Simmons College

Team Members:
Kathe Albrecht (incoming VRAF Co-Chair)
Christine Hilker (registration and web manager), replacing Evan Towle
Trudy Jacoby (development), replacing Elaine Paul
Megan Young (continuing member)

Board liaisons:
For ARLIS/NA: Elizabeth Schaub
For VRA Foundation: Jeanne Keefe

SEI Advisory Group:
Sherman Clarke
Johanna Bauman
Eileen Fry
Amber Ruiz